Mr Tay Thye Sun

Mr Tay Thye Sun has been practicing gemology after he graduated from the Gemological Institute of America since 1980. Before he went full time on gem testing lab work and instructor, he was an experienced gem dealer and doing wholesale and retail jewellery business.

In 1985, he came across some of the natural rubies with very little inclusions and very difficult to authenticate the nature of the rubies. This prompts him to find out more and in doing so had slowly drawn him into the world of gem research.

To date, he and together with his many co-authors published many articles (see Research) in the gemological journals around the world. He was invited to speak in APEC Melbourne 2000, APEC Beijing 2000, 60th Anniversary of the German Gemmological Association 1992 (click to view pictures), Germany; and the prestigious meeting by invitation only of the International Gemmological Conference held in Spain 2001, India 1999, Germany 1997, Thailand 1995, etc.

Education Background

Bachelor of Science – Geology (1976) University of London.
Master of Science – Social and Psychological Aspects of Science and Technology in Industry (1977), Imperial College of Science and Technology, London.
Diploma of Membership of Imperial College (1978), London.
Graduate Gemologist, Gemological Institute of America, (1980), Santa Monica, U.S.A.

In 2013, he received the Fellowship of Diploma from the British Gemmological Association of Great Britain. The Gemmological Association of Great Britain celebrated their 100th anniversary and also they have student graduation ceremony. He is the only Asian to receive this honourary award that year.
President of Singapore Gemologist Society from 1993 to 2003, one of the founding member of the society since 1983.
Appointed to the organisation of expert, United National since 1994.

Technical Committee Member of the International Colored Gemstone Association (ICA) 1989 to 1993 – 37 nations.
Member of the International Gemological Conference since 1993 and was elected to the Executive Board member since 2004 and was appointed as Secretary-general from 2004 to 2009.